The Kenya Petroleum Refineries Limited was originally set up by Shell and the British Petroleum Company BP to serve the East African region in the supply of a wide variety of oil products.

The Company was incorporated in 1960, under the name East African Oil Refineries Limited. The first refinery complex which has distillation, hydrotreating, catalytic reforming, and bitumen production units was commissioned in 1963.  

The second refinery train was commissioned in 1974 and also has distillation, hydrotreating, and reforming units.


To be the number one supplier of integrated energy.


We will maximize value addition to delight our customer and other stakeholders.


“Energizing Our Nation.”

Core Values

Honesty, Integrity, Respect, Trust, Openness, Teamwork, Professionalism, and Pride in all that we do.

Key Historical Dates

1959: Colonial Government Agreement with ‘Consolidated’ (50% Shell, 50% BP)
1960: East African Oil Refineries Limited Incorporated
1963: Complex I completed and commissioned
1963: Esso and Caltex become Shareholders
1970: Grease Plant Constructed
1971: Government acquire 50% Shareholding
1974: Complex II completed and commissioned
1983: Change of name to – Kenya Petroleum Refineries Limited
1994: Deregulation leading to introduction of base load and processing fees changes
1996: New Control Center (DCS) commissioned
1997: Esso sold their shares
1998: KPRL Laboratory ISO 9002 Certified
2005: Commencement of production of unleaded mogas
2007: New Laboratory completed and commissioned
2009: Essar acquired 50% of shares from Shell, BP and Chevron
2016: Essar exits from shareholding of KPRL and shares 100% acquired by GoK
2017: KPRL signed an agreement with KPC for a 3 year lease of its storage facilities


KPRL is a 100% Government of Kenya owned entity.

Board of Directors

NameNationalityAppointing ShareholderPosition
Hesbon GondiKenyanGovernment of Kenya Director
Joseph KariukiKenyanGovernment of Kenya Director
Joseph WafulaKenyanGovernment of Kenya Director
Henry KaringaKenyanGovernment of Kenya Director
Lilian Mahiri-Zaja KenyanGovernment of Kenya Director

Management Team

The KPRL Management Team is composed of:

Joseph NdotiAg. Chief Executive Officer
Abigail MwangiChief Operating Officer
Martin WahomeHuman Resource Manager
Eng. Evanson MomanyiEngineering Manager
Michael KariukiManager Technology, Development & Operations
Kadzo KalamaHead of Legal Services